Kayakoy, also known as the ‘Stone Village’, is a unique and fascinating place that is steeped in History. This deserted village consists of ruins of ancient Greek houses is situated in southwest Turkey and lies between the foothills of Olüdeniz and Fethiye. This small picturesque village in Southern Turkey accommodates a selection of small pensions, boutique hotels and traditionally built villas. Slightly off the beaten track Kayakoy is a protected site and hosts a range of workshops in cookery and painting.
About 500 old Greek houses, two large charges, a few chapels and a small school made up this once tiny farming community. Bougainville and fruit trees line the abandoned streets of Kaya and the small whitish squares of the houses are exposed to the green landscape.
The ancient ghost town of Kayakoy (Karmylassos) is now preserved as a museum village; abandoned Greek stone houses leaves an eerie feeling of desolation after the population of exchange in 1923.
Just 8 km south of Fethiye in Southern Turkey, Kayakoy is renowned for the famous novel Birds without wings, written by Louis de Bernieres and more recently the Water Diviner Film directed by and starring Russell Crowe.
The village of Kaya has a few small restaurants offering local & traditional cuisine as well as a plenitude of B.B:Q restaurants and a couple of wine houses offering a more International menu. As well as a few small markets where you can purchase some basic provisions there is a wonderful cafe in the village square where you can sit and watch the world go by.
A backdrop of Kaya – just imagine farmland, natural beauty, mountains and unspoilt picturesque views that feature for a truly relaxing and refreshing break.
The History of Kayakoy
After the Greco-Turkish war, and the population exchange in 1923 the village of Kayakoy was largely abandoned when an agreement was signed between the Greek and Turkish Governments. Kayakoy was known to the Greeks as ‘Levissi’ a town of Greek speaking Christians hosting a population of approximately 2000 people in the 1900’s. It was established on the site of the ancient city of Karmylassos in the 18th century. After the war of Independence and population exchange the village was largely left abandoned when the Greeks moved back and settled in Athens and the Turks from Greece came back to Turkey. Due to belief the Turks did not occupy Kayakoy believing rumours that the wells were poisoned and for many superstition that it was just unlucky, despite the fact that the Turks lived and farmed the land of the valley and the Greeks occupied the houses on the mountainside side by side for years. Today Kayakoy has approximately 500 houses that remain, with 2 orthodox Greek churches being an important historical feature and is currently protected by the Turkish government.
© Copyright 2014 by Nereus Travel Agency - All Rights Reserved